Weekend Wander: Where the wild things are is not a place for little ones

WTWTA_wp5_1280X1024Maurice Sendak’s book “Where the Wild Things Are” was a favorite of both my children when they were in preschool. They loved when I roared a terrible roar and gnashed my terrible teeth. I am sure many parents are excited that the movie version of the classic picture book opens up tomorrow but I hope parents of preschoolers take the time to read the reviews of the film before they rush out to buy a ticket. The movie is getting great advance press but every piece I have read comes with the caution that this film is too scary for young children. Jane Horwitz, who writes a syndicated column called Family Filmgoer is one of the critics who says the film is okay for most kids 10 and older and certainly will be “interesting stuff” for teens and adults. Just a word of caution before the wild rumpus begins!

One response to “Weekend Wander: Where the wild things are is not a place for little ones

  1. There were several young children in the theater when I went to see this movie last week. Not sure if too scary for them as much as the wild actions they may go home and act out. As my favorite book still, and the cartoon movie was good, I was highly disappointed in this movie. Was not what I thought it would be. Don’t waste your money.

Leave a Reply

